Just For A Thrill

Bill Wyman's Rhythm Kings


The Rhythm Kings are the manifestation of Bill Wyman's and Terry Taylor's desire to perform authentic American Blues, Swing, and original Rock'n Roll. The duo have been friends for decades and decided to create a fluid band where friends and guest musicians could come and go without missing a beat.

Just For A Thrill is the fifth studio effort released by the Rhythm Kings. Never fortified with self confidence as a singer, Wyman routinely welcomes a rotating cast of stellar male and female vocalists to fulfill the musical vision for this unit.

The tuneful team of Wyman-Taylor are no slouches either when it comes to composing original material for the Rhythm Kings. The Dirt Boys duo (as they like to be called) contributed another four new numbers on Just For A Thrill.

"Disappearing Nightly" kicks off the album with a spirited lead vocal by Albert Lee, supported by Mark Knopfler on guitar. "Mississippi Flyer" again highlights Lee with the aid of pianist Axel Zwingenberger on the first of four original Wytel songs.

Wyman's musical knowledge and ability to select material for the Rhythm Kings is an added asset for the band. "Booty Ooty" is a funky number showcasing the outgoing Mike Sanchez on lead vocals. The horn section and bass playing give this uncommon groove the muscle to move.

Wyman handles the lead vocal on "Town Living". Another relaxing original that exemplifies the style and mastery of the Rhythm Kings. Female staple Beverley Skeete steps forward on "This Ain't United Nations", a bouncy swing-influenced romp.

Guest vocalist Ian Siegal takes a turn on the bluesy "Memphis Woman". Andy Fairweather Low plays guitar, Terry Taylor contributes slide guitar, and Frank Meade huffs and puffs on the harmonica. Skeete is outstanding on the swampy-ballad "Cry Baby", empowered by an R&B-infused harmony chorus.

Wyman and Taylor have ironed out a successful formula for the Rhythm Kings. No nonsense tunes that are enjoyable whether on disc or on stage. The diversity of their repertoire gives this group an unparalled ability to expand their musical territory without sacrificing their roots in R&R.

RadioRockonTour #1
RadioRockonTour  RadioRockonTour@yahoo.com

RadioRockonTour.com © 2004 RockonTour


           Airtime for the discerning Concertphile

01. Disappearing Nightly
02. Roll 'em Pete
03. Down Home Girl
04. Mississippi River
05. That's How Heartaches Are Made
06. Booty Ooty
07. Cadillac Woman
08. Town Living
09. This Ain't United Nations
10. Memphis Woman
11. Taxman
12. Just For A Thrill
13. Cry Baby
14. You Don't Know
15. Jitterbug Boogie [Live]
16. Melody * [Live - Japan bonus track]

Roadrunner Records
May 2004