The Moody Blues


Late into their established career, the Moody Blues recorded and released their first holiday album, December. A stunning collection of outstanding original compositions and familiar holiday classics, the Moody Blues delivered a holiday treat to be enjoyed by future generations for holiday seasons to come.

Now reduced to a tightened trio, guitarist Justin Hayward, bassist John Lodge, and drummer Graeham Edge carry on the band's trademark sound in the form of a holiday salutation to their legion of fans around the globe.

Hayward's lush lullaby, "Don't Need A Reindeer", is the perfect holiday pop single able to warm one's heart, recalling childhood memories of sharing the wonder of Christmas. The Moody Blues' infectious harmonies are simply irresistible.

"December Snow" is a tremendous Hayward ballad, tugging at the heartstrings of a lost love. By omitting any mention of the holiday season in the lyrics, this Moody masterpiece spans the seasons gracefully throughout the calendar year.

The Moody's candy-coated version of the late John Lennon's "Happy Xmas (War Is Over)" presents Hayward and Lodge in a vocal duet, trading stanzas in this holiday classic. They tastefully amended the chorus for a modern audience.

The Blue tag-team of Hayward and Lodge once again share lead vocals and duet on the holiday classic "White Christmas". Shifting in tempo from a moderate ballad to a mild rocker, the Moody Blues deliver this familiar tale with a new twist.

RadioRockonTour #2
RadioRockonTour © 2004 RockonTour
           Airtime for the discerning Concertphile

01. Don't Need a Reindeer
02. December Snow
03. In the Quiet of Christmas Morning
04. On This Christmas Day
05. Happy Xmas (War Is Over)
06. A Winter's Tale
07. Spirit of Christmas
8. Yes I Believe
09. When a Child is Born
10. White Christmas
11. In the Bleak Midwinter

Universal Music
October 2003