Calling All Stations



Genesis returned with one final musical artifact in 1997, following the departure of bandmate Phil Collins. Calling All Stations teamed up remaining original members Tony Banks and Mike Rutherford with Ray Wilson handling the vocalist position.

Overall, the Genesis compositions on this album are decent. However, the actual performances as individual takes of the material do not exactly inspire the hardcore Genesis fan. None of the songs distinguish themselves in the vein of previous recordings released by this top-selling British band.

Comparisons to the Peter Gabriel era or the Phil Collins era may not be equitable, but the body or work released by Genesis is hard to ignore. Banks and Rutherford contribute the majority of the songs that constitute Calling All Stations. Wilson shares a composer credit on three of the songs.

The infamous "Collins" percussion sound was an audio-signature of Genesis, which they have effectively avoided. The fact that Banks and Rutherford chose Ray Wilson as their new frontman to soldier on as Genesis confirms the duo's belief that Genesis remained a relevant musical voice on contemporary charts.

Nir Zidkyahu commands the drumming chores on Calling All Stations. Nick D'Virgilio sat behind the drumkit on three songs, plus the second half of "Alien Afternoon". As an effort, this is a solid album, but the shadows of both Collins and Gabriel cast a niggling reminder this unit must prove themselves anew.

Some of the more interesting songs on the album are the title track "Calling All Stations", a moderate rocker. "Congo" is a peculiar percussive piece. "Shipwrecked" and "Not About Us" are two ballads of varying strength. "The Dividing Line" features an extended band-jam intro.

RadioRockonTour #9
RadioRockonTour © 2005 RockonTour
           Airtime for the discerning Concertphile

01. Calling All Stations
02. Congo
03. Shipwrecked
04. Alien Afternoon
05. Not About Us
06. If That's What You Need
07. The Dividing Line
08. Uncertain Weather
09. Small Talk
10. There Must Be Some Other Way
11. One Man's Fool

Atlantic Records
September 1997